The Tuna Lady

I’m now called the “tuna lady” at the hospital where I receive chemotherapy. The caterer stopped asking what would I want. “No tuna today,” she’d say.

The nurses call me by my first name. One of them knows me by my “lovely port”, which is a round plastic object planted under the skin, above my right breast, used to administer chemotherapy.  It’s “lovely” because it’s prominent, therefore easy to access. It seems they have new designs frequently. The new ones are more discreet.

I had the port implanted immediately after the diagnosis. I was to have innumerable chemo “parties” over a very long period of time.

The first question I have to answer every time a nurse attempts to access the port is what type of needle is usually used. Three-quarters needle, and that is, fortunately, the smallest.

This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

